Coleman makes two changes as the Eagles team is named for the big dance.

October 20, 2016



With only 80 minutes of rugby standing between the Country Eagles and an inaugural NRC title, Darren Coleman has made 2 changes to the side that defeated the Melbourne Rising 50-24 in Newcastle last weekend. 

Paddy Ryan, Folau Fa’ainga and Sam Needs make up a new look front row, with Tolu Latu and Tom Robertson away on national duty. Rohan O’Reegan and Tim Buchanan retain their spots in the second row, whilst the ever reliable Perry, Ward and Figg will look to win what will be a crucial battle at the breakdown.

The Eagles backs are unchanged with try scoring machines Jake Gordon and Reece Robinson go head to head to see who will top the NRC try scoring tallies. Gordon sits one clear of right winger Robinson, but the attacking combinations that have been developing across the season should result in expansive and exciting football come Saturday night. Waratahs Kellaway and Horwitz slot into fullback and outside centre respectively, whilst Mr.Consistent Kyle Godwin plays inside centre.

Stay tuned for more updates over the coming days!


NSW Country Eagles Team to face the Perth Spirit
Scully Park, Tamworth.
7:45pm, Saturday 22nd October 2016

1 Paddy Ryan (c)
2 Folau Fa’ainga
3 Sam Needs
4 Rohan O’Reegan
5 Tim Buchanan
6 Sam Figg
7 Rowan Perry
8 Sam Ward
9 Jake Gordon
10 Andrew Deegan
11 Alex Newsome
12 Kyle Godwin
13 David Horwitz (vc)
14 Reece Robinson
15 Andrew Kellaway

16 Luke Holmes
17 Jed Gillespie
18 Cam Betham
19 Ryan McCauley
20 Tom Cusack
21 Mark Baldwin
22 Tayler Adams
23 Tom Hill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *